Talking Phoen-ish: the glossary of a 3 year old

IMG_1942

I love words. Look at them, all sitting here in a row talking to you. Aren’t they great.

I was always a fan of English at school, I devoured books escalating an epic collection of ‘babysitter club’ books to what seemed to fill our whole loft. Words. Words. Words.

When Ben and I first starting courting (that’s a good one isn’t it?) I used to refer to him as the ‘speech police’. He would always correct me on my midland nuances in my speech.

It really hacked me off. Its amazing we made it through. Sharp jabs definitely helped.

People get too snobby about language. I do love a big descriptive word every now again, but equally would the world really be the same place with obvs, totes, lolling and amaze-balls? I doubt it.

But I must confess, when it comes to looking at this from the mummy hood, I am defo a 100%…..hypocrite.

Because when Phoenix started coming back from nursery talking like some kind of East-end gangsta I stamped that out quicker than you could say chill-ax. Because its one of those things you think you must get right innit? It’s something socially unaccepted if your kid don’t talk prop-ah right. Does it matter? I want to say no, a child learning to speak is so so cool and amazing however they do it, but it does doesn’t it? It really does. I wouldn’t be able to physically bear it if Phoenix went to people’s houses and didn’t speak nicely with perfect manners.

God bless the queen n all that.

“Mum, mum look at this LEGO sit-ee”

Erm….i think you mean LEGO city

“I love my lit-ul cars mum”

Yeah…so I think you’ll find its ‘little’

And so on. We may have gone have slightly OTT as he now picks me up if do so much as drop a vowel. Next he’ll be demanding cream teas and an english breakfast with his daily burst of Hot Wheels.

I think I’ve said before that talking is by far my favourite stage of childhood. When you start to get a sense of who they are and what’s inside their head its theIMG_2034 best thing ever. Kids are so naturally funny and curious and observant every conversation (yeah ok, well maybe not every…..) is a keepsake. Phoenix has always been insanely good at talking, London gansta or not that kid can talk. He’s very descriptive and has the memory or an elephant. He remembers everything and can recall in detail. I love how he’s so confident with words and how I can see when he gets real joy out of putting new words into a sentence and trying them out. This is especially cute when he is completely unaware he is at times just saying them completely out of context. And here I draw the line at correcting, because seriously when you read this lit-ul glossary below wouldn’t you want to carry on these chats for as long as possible…?

HAM RAT = HAM WRAP

SMELL MY BRAINS = SMELL MY BREATH (TOOTH BRUSH CHECK)

PRINCESSES IN THE SNOW = FOOTPRINTS IN THE SNOW

TOASTS = TOAST

CONSTRUCTIONS = INSTRUCTIONS

CRAM = PRAM

WHERE’S SHES A DUMMY? = WHERE’S HER DUMMY?

FRIEND!!!! = NAME SHOUTED FOR ANY NEW PLAYMATE WHO HE MEETS AT SOFT-PLAY OR THE PARK

 

 

Tagged , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

