What time is it?

Over about the last 6 weeks I have been completley obsessed with getting Phoenix to sleep through the night. To be perfectly blunt I was totally over the knackeredness and the night feeds, and it was making me feel grumpy and frustrated. Humph. I couldn’t work out why he would always wake up and why he couldn’t be settled without a feed even though I’d stuffed him before bed. There were times when we came really close, only be hit with a relapse of 2 hour feeding, feeling like we’d made no progress, ouch. And I’m ready to confess that if any other mum told me about their baby sleeping through I’d stuff my hands in my pockets to refrain from poking them in the eyes and dropping to my knees wailing ‘it’s not fair, it’s not fair!’ And heaven forbid if said smug mum should have a baby younger than mine; well that’s surely deserving of a simple punch in the face isn’t it?….Ok, ok, I’m not really that evil (or mental) and if your baby was sleeping through the night from 6 weeks then good for you, really I’m happy for you…you cow…ahem, sorry what, who said that?!

But, and it’s with slight trepidation that I put this out there into the public, I think we’ve cracked it, I think he’s sleeping through. Hoorah! Hmmmm strange, when I got to this point and when I actually typed that, I’d imagined some kind of fan fare, some balloons perhaps, a few stremers? But alas it seems that life just goes on as normal. Oh well.

So now Phoenix is in bed for 6.30pm and his last feed of the day is still a breastfeed. Prior to that around 5.30ish he has some kind of pureed based dinner so he’s filled up to get right into dream land. Just before Ben goes to bed, around midnight, (he can stay up later than I can, I struggle to make it beyond 10pm these days) he gives him a bottle of ‘good night’ for his dream feed. It’s quite nice how this has become Ben’s job; it’s nice not to have to responsibility for a little bit of his routine. According to Ben, and judging by Phoenix’s sleeping skills, he’s totally nailed this feed and word on the street is that it’s a very quick, slick operation where Phoenix drinks the whole bottle without waking up.  Ben goes into this feed like he’s preparing for war and if I offer to help I receive this typical kind of response ‘I know what I’m doing, I have my system, I have it under control, step away from the baby’. No problem Sergeant Milk, knock yourself out.

After that he’ll sleep through until 6.30am which once upon a time was a time reserved only for getting up for a flight, watching a sunrise or an insane early morning gym session. Now, 6.30am is a completely acceptable time to get up. Oh how life has changed. In fact if I hear him on the monitor and do my usual obsessive grab for my watch to work out how many hours I’ve slept, if I see anything past 6am looking back at me it’s a bloody miracle and I skip out of bed (sort of). Next step is to stop that dream feed. At the moment there’s no way he’d sleep without it, but I’ll await instruction from Sergant Milk on when it’s time to start cutting it out.

Night all! x

Tagged , , , , , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “What time is it?

  1. Kirsty says:

    I so know what you mean. Eamonn has been variable – one night all through, the next up every 3 hours. A couple of weeks ago he went to waking every hour and screaming for at least an hour in the middle of the night, despite a feed only an harbor so before. We finally figured he was hungry… And he finally “got” solids about 4 days ago. Now we stuff him with solids at 6, bottle and bed at 7, wakes forba feed about 10 and then through to 6:30. Bliss!! I feel like we’ve cracked it, finally!!!

    It’s so good to hear people going through the same stuff we are 🙂

  2. Honest Mum says:

    I don’t think any baby will always sleep through due to teething, being poorly. Of course it’s great if you can make it happen just don’t expect it to last forever.

Leave a Reply

