Death of the domestic goddess?

I think I would safely classify myself as a ‘modern mum’ – I’m relatively young (just), I own a handful of Apple products, I blog, I social network, my pram looks like a spaceship and I have a packet of wasabi peas in the cupboard. But I’m starting to wonder if being a modern mum can cause a breakdown of the more traditional ‘household skills’. I’ve noticed that mine and Ben’s mums have a natural flair for domestic tasks that I don’t seem to have picked up. They can both sew, they always know how to remove stains and my mum can never resist a good scrub of the bathroom. But what is more amazing to me is that they seem to genuinely enjoy these jobs, and here I quote Ben’s mum – “I love ironing”. Wow.

I am yet to channel my inner domestic goddess and assumed that having a baby would give you instant domestic ‘powers’. This does not seem to be the case. Don’t get me wrong, I do my chores like a good housewifey; I hate mess and I love nothing more than getting into clean sheets, but I do struggle to keep on top of things sometimes and defiantly do not enjoy housework! Also, on 23rd July at 11am (when Phoenix popped out), someone cast a spell on my laundry basket meaning that no matter what is taken out, it will always remain full. It is relentless. I can’t even begin to imagine what it’ll be like when you add more kids into the mix.

I don’t feel like I’ll ever become a whizz at this kind of stuff, but I think life would be easier if I did! Does it just take time and practice? And this is what got me wondering if us techno modern mums spend more time doing other stuff than concentrating on our domestic skills? And is that a good thing or bad thing? For example you wouldn’t have caught our parents online or blogging when the baby was napping! But writing this blog really keeps my brain active and I love hearing everyone’s thoughts and feedback. Writing is a great way for me to express my creativity right from my front room, which can be a tough thing to achieve when you spend most of your time with your boobs out and covered in vomit.

However, saying that I have to face up to the fact that I’m 27, I’m married, I have a baby, the word director is somewhere in my job title, and yet I have NEVER owned an iron, never baked a proper cake and my washing always comes out like cardboard. I think it’s time to step up to being a mum. I’ve also been inspired by a moment of sheer domestic bliss I experienced the other night which went something like this…the baby was asleep, I had a lamb rack roasting in the oven, the flat was sparkling clean and there was even a gentle vinyl spinning in the background. Ahhhhh. bliss. I thought to myself ‘I’ve bloody done it – I’m Betty Draper from Mad Men. I’m Aunt Bessie. I am a god damn domestic goddess!!!’ Shortly after this I sat down to eat and scolded my mouth on a potato. I tried so hard to keep it in but it was hotter than sun and it ended up right back onto my perfectly arranged plate. Then Phoenix woke up crying. My domestic bliss bubble was burst wide open. But still, I’d had a glimmer! I felt it! So I’m going to buy an iron and ironing board this week and see what happens to me…

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

3 thoughts on “Death of the domestic goddess?

  1. mum says:

    Being a domestic goddess is sooo last year!!!!

  2. I love that you are buying your first iron and ironing board at 27. That’s an achievement you can be proud of.

Leave a Reply

