Daytime living

When you work full-time you don’t really ever get to see much of what goes on in the day time, but now I’m out and about with Phoenix I’m seeing a whole other world!

Since moving to London I’ve found it difficult to ever feel part of a ‘community’. In an exciting city that is so diverse and massive, it’s tough to really feel part of anything close-knit or have ownership over any of it. But since moving areas and becoming a mum this has changed and I now feel like a ‘local’ around my area. Christ, I even have a library card: check me out!

In the day time I’ve noticed that the population consists of the elderly, the retirees, students, a lot of mums (there’s hundreds of us!) and unemployed and mental people. Usually when I’m travelling between home and work I’m focussing so much on getting from a to b that there’s little much time to really take everything in. Things are quite different these days and I’m strolling round with the pram at a leisurely pace soaking it all up. And when you look closely there’s some quite strange things going on in the day time. These are a few observations I’ve made on my pram pushing outings…

1) A rather overweight lady in her early 50’s riding down the street on a child’s BMX (on her own).

2) A woman on her doorstep in her pj’s talking to a random passerby about how they both really love beetroot.

3) The following objects lying on the pavement in a single line spaced exactly one metre apart: an old worn out jumper from the Montgomery Bay Aquarium with a large jelly fish on the front, a dead pigeon with the feathers plucked from one wing only, and a fully packaged cucumber. I’d love to know the events that led up to this.

I’ve also noticed that literally every time I go out with the pram I get stopped for directions. I guess people assume that as you have a child, you’re a local, and therefore you know the area. Do not be fooled, I never have a clue where anything is and am a sheer disappointment to all direction seekers.

The other day on the bus a man said to me ‘is that a boy or a girl?’, I said ‘he’s a boy’. He then pressed the button to stop the bus, waited for the doors to open and then shouted really quickly, ‘I hope you have a girl next time’ and jumped off the bus like he’d said something really rude. Odd. And, on another bus trip a woman starting asking about my labour, I said ‘oh it was fairly tough, managed without any drugs, so a bit painful…blah, blah’. She then proceeded to shout down the bus to her daughter, who was surrounded by children and pushchairs, ‘hear that? No drugs, not like you, you were screaming like a baby, you were an embarrassment’, she wasn’t joking either and seemed generally miffed at this poor girl. The girl shot me dark evils and I knew she thought I was the biggest show off ever. Awkward. Plus the woman smelt like cider and cigarettes, ew.

So I guess when you have a baby you also take on a new role in society and people look at you differently. A baby is a conversation starter, and an excuse for people to chat to you. This can be really nice at times as I hate the coldness of the general public in London, but I can defiantly do without chit chatting to the nutters out there!

We registered the little dude as Phoenix Miles Martin this week, so now he exists on the planet and on computer systems nationwide! With a name like that he’s limited to a few careers – Hollywood actor, famous musician, film director or olympian. No pressure then boy 🙂 Look at his new smiling skills, arrrgghhhh, I want to eat him! Munch, munch!!

Leave a Reply

